Integrated into the sweeping historical circuit through the museum’s Classical Modernism collection will be some 40 paintings and sculptures by 40 different members of the Secession – among them Alma del Banco, Karl Ballmer, Fritz Flinte, Ivo Hauptmann, Paul Henle, Karl Kluth, Dorothea Maetzel-Johannsen, Rolf Nesch, Anita Rée, Otto Rodewald, Heinrich Steinhagen, Heinrich Stegemann and Gretchen Wohlwill. This direct juxtaposition with modernist works by artists from all over Europe is designed to reveal how the members of the Hamburg Secession picked up in manifold ways on the art trends of their time.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email